Artists Space

Attention Line

June 11 – August 20

Blaster Al Ackerman, Craig Baldwin, Ed Bereal: Wanted for Disturbing the Peace, Circus Amok and Jennifer Miller, Vaginal Davis, Manuel DeLanda, James Luna, Tom Murrin (aka The Alien Comic), Tamio Shiraishi, Hannah Weiner, and Johanna Went

In conjunction with the exhibition, Canal Street Research Association with Rolando Politi will inaugurate a participatory alternative currency project.

A colored image depicts a figure
Ed Bereal, Bodacious Buggerilla performance documentation (still), c. 1970s, color film converted to video, 15 minutes. Image courtesy of the artist. [A colored image depicts a figure's upper half of the body facing front against a black background. The figure's face is painted white with contrasting makeup. The figure is wearing a fake white nose, a white wig, and an American flag patterned hat and scarf around his shoulder.]

Organized by Artists Space and Andrew Lampert, Attention Line considers the important ways that artists who generally operate outside the commercial confines of the visual art world can actively address and reconfigure media, power, and public space—through parody, exaggeration, confrontation, internalization, structured confusion, and the serendipitous nature of working out in the open. Rooted in late 1970s New York, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Baltimore, San Antonio, Portland, La Jolla and elsewhere in the United States, Attention Line presents eleven iconoclastic artists who self-reflexively enact radical subjectivity within the urban environment. Taking form as visual art, media interventions, stage shows, mail art, and surreptitious public performances, these artists disrupt communication channels and the trafficking of cultural material by intervening in the pervasive flows of normalcy that underpin and uphold everyday consumer culture.

Each of these remarkably singular artists has carved out their own dynamic relation between form, culture, and their suspecting or unsuspecting public. Whether working between covert urban intervention and filmed documentation (Craig Baldwin and Manuel DeLanda), exaggerating and embodying notably troubled cultural stereotypes (James Luna and Vaginal Davis), accelerating and fracturing the commonplace logic of live performance to imbue material culture with energetic chaos (Johanna Went and Tom Murrin), skewering political and hegemonic power with dark comedic parody (Ed Bereal and Circus Amok), expressing their internal subjectivity as disjunctive projections in urban space (Hannah Weiner and Tamio Shiraishi), or self-distributing their kaleidoscopic output and invented personae through decidedly unconventional means (Blaster Al Ackerman and others), these artists each bring forth critical aspects of a largely untold, uniquely American history of tactical situationist artmaking.

Improvising saxophonist Tamio Shiraishi will perform in Cortlandt Alley six times throughout the course of the exhibition. Performances will begin promptly and be brief, according to the following schedule:

Saturday, June 11, 6:30pm
Thursday, June 23, 6:30pm
Saturday, July 2, 1pm
Saturday, July 16, 1pm
Thursday, August 4, 6:30pm
Saturday, August 20, 1pm

New York’s legendary Circus Amok will present a new outdoor circus performance in Cortlandt Alley, commissioned by Artists Space as part of Attention Line.

Saturday, August 13, 2pm

As part of Attention Line, Artists Space’s downstairs gallery will feature a cinema with screenings of these artists’ films and videos. A full schedule of each week's titles will be available in the gallery and posted here soon. Cinema Schedule:

Saturday, June 11
Ed Bereal

June 15 – 25
Craig Baldwin

June 29 – July 9
Manuel DeLanda

July 13 – 23
Johanna Went

July 27 – August 6
Vaginal Davis

August 10 – 20
James Luna

Saturday, June 11, 6:30pm
Thursday, June 23, 6:30pm
Saturday, July 2, 1pm
Saturday, July 16, 1pm
Thursday, August 4, 6:30pm
Saturday, August 20, 1pm

July 2, 2022

Manuel DeLanda Screening & Lecture
Screening & Lecture

August 20, 2022

Circus Amok

Attention Line has been deeply informed by the guidance, generosity, and collaboration of Phil Aarons, Mitchell Algus, Darlene Altschul, E. J. Barnes, Jennifer Bartlett, John Bennett, John Berndt, Charles Bernstein & Susan Bee, Isabella Bortolozzi & Aisha Butt, Jolie Braun and Ohio State University Rare Books & Manuscripts Library, Lee Ann Brown, Tom Cassidy (aka Music Master), Amy Chaloupka, Paul Chan, Howie Chen, Lynda Claassen and Special Collections & Archives, UCSD, Rebecca Cleman, James Cobb, Keith Connolly, Tony Conrad, Jeffrey Deitch, Jane Friedman, Jake Couri & Nicole Bliss at Howl Arts, Lia Gangitano, Gladstone Gallery, Adrian Glew, Stevie Greathouse, Garth Greenan, Hugh O’Rourke & Julian Corbett, Ed Halter, Greta Hartenstein, John Held, Daniel Higgs, AleXander Hirka, J. Hoberman, Richard Kern, Adam Khalil, Zack Khalil, John Klacsmann and Anthology Film Archives, Stephanie LaCava, Jill Magid, Ryan Martin, Materials for the Arts, Danny McDonald, Sarah Michelson, Stewart Mostofksy, Ian Nagoski, Phill Niblock, Annie Ochmanek, Glenn Phillips, Seth Price, Kevin Reilly, Richard Saltoun, David Scherrer, Max Schumann, Lucy Sexton, Olivia Shao, Michael Smith, Stephanie Snyder, Barbara Sternberger, Patricia Sullivan, Nigel Taylor, Video Data Bank, Mark Wheaton, Rupert Wondolowski, and Eric Wrenn.

Special thanks to Eva Buchmuller for exhibition design collaboration.

Lead support is provided by The Douglas F. Cooley Memorial Art Gallery, Reed College.

Program support is provided by Lambent Foundation Fund of Tides Foundation, The Andy Warhol Foundation, The Cowles Charitable Trust, The Cy Twombly Foundation, The David Teiger Foundation, The Helen Frankenthaler Foundation, The Horace W. Goldsmith Foundation, The New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, The New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Kathy Hochul and the New York State Legislature, Imperfect Family Foundation, Robert Rauschenberg Foundation, The Stavros Niarchos Foundation, The Willem de Kooning Foundation, The Fox Aarons Foundation, Herman Goldman Foundation, The Destina Foundation, The Luce Foundation, May and Samuel Rudin Family Foundation, The Milton and Sally Avery Arts Foundation, Arison Arts Foundation, The David Rockefeller Fund, The Jacques and Natasha Gelman Foundation, The Jill and Peter Kraus Foundation, The Richard Pousette-Dart Foundation.